Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

I believe there is a point of time where working individuals are dragged into a giant boredom for repeating processes they do in daily basis. In some cases, ones might feel that they go nowhere or have not done anything of impact. If none of you are feeling so, at least I am. At the very moment.

As a young soul that is often affiliated with adjectives like ambitious and contributive, I feel that doing work alone would not completely satisfy the “needs” of yours (or mine) as a youth. Our coping strategy might differ to pursue and eventually fulfill the “needs.” That’s fine. In my case, I chose to get involved in a non-profit youth organization called Indonesian Youth for SMEs (or abbreviated as IYS.)

Well, before going further with my story in IYS, I will update you on what I have been doing recently. I have been officially working full-time in media/marketing/advertising company as a Strategic Planning for over a year now. In this industry, I am challenged to think strategically and at the same time, creatively in answering client’s business issue through investment in media. And I love doing it. But I can’t lie to you that I am feeling stuck.

As an advertising worker, I might choose to join in this and that competition to get rewarded and recognized. I did yet unfortunately was unsuccessful. But I will definitely try again.

In my opinion, joining a competition would surely grow your ambition and competitive sense which might be useful to succeed in the office. But this, I think, will only give you a snapshot experience that is not really rich to stretch your capability. (No offense to competition joiners and award chasers! You are still admirable, though.)

In other hand, to join a new organization, in my point view, would advantage one as they meet and learn from new people and do work other than what s/he does daily in the office desk. This would give the chance for one to grow personally and, in some sense, professionally as they horizon is opened even vaster. So, to this regards, I chose to participate in IYS!

Briefly speaking, IYS, is a youth-run non-profit which aims at growing local SMEs by providing free-of-charge professional business consultations. The seed of IYS was firstly grown by Ela and Mulyono as IYS was the first project of theirs for the famous McKinsey’s YLI program.

As you may expect, this organization is joined by a bunch of full-of-energy, visionary, bright, and highly-driven individuals who share the same vision as the founders. Knowing them and listening to their stories gave me chill. In one side, this silently tears me apart. It feels like achievements are all over the place.

One member won this global business competition. The other was appointed as a Director in a reputable company in an age as young as 26. And a lot more thrilling stories! The stories are so getting me cornered, feeling small as I question myself whether I have done a little, if not nothing, of impact.

In other side (the bright one), I am feeling energized. I meet no one of this like in my office. And after meeting them, I have this sense of keeping up with the pace and passion they have; to climb up to the same or exceed the level they are now. Which (I assume) is good, no?

Oh, by the way, I witnessed all these as I participated in Consulting 101 session of IYS this weekend (thanks to all crew for rolling out such an awesome training!). This is compulsory prerequisite for me as a newly appointed Analyst to be equipped with understanding of framework and approach IYS apply to cases/problems. It was indeed very exciting and insightful session! (thanks again to the crew :))

Thus far, I think I am choosing the right new circle. I see lots of inspiring individuals from which I can learn and experience novel things. These will help me achieve my true objectives of joining IYS that include thinking systematically, in a well-structured manner like a silky-suit-wrapped business consultant (which I believe will help me approach cases better in my day-to-day work) and to network with inspiring individuals.

Nadia Comaneci has a great line to conclude my choice to tap into a different wavelength. That says, “You should appreciate the goodness around you, and surround yourself with positive people.”

Let’s have fun and start creating impact!🙂